Disaster Food Stamps

Disaster TANF announced for 20 counties in Georgia

Georgia residents hit hard by Hurricane Michael can finally get some relief. The Georgia Division of Family and Children Services (DFCS) announced that households can now apply for temporary assistance to support their families as they continue to recover from the storm.

The DFCS is implementing the Disaster TANF (Temporary Assistance for Needy Families) program in 20 Georgia counties. This is the first time Georgia has ever implemented the DTANF program.

The Disaster TANF program will provide eligible Georgia households with one lump sum payment that will equal the amount of four months of benefits.

Georgia Disaster TANF

What is D-TANF?

Disaster TANF is extended assistance for low-income families who have suffered a loss of housing because of a natural disaster.

Currently, there are over 33,000 applications submitted for Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) individual assistance as a result of Hurricane Michael. Some of those 33.000 families are also potentially eligible for Disaster TANF assistance.

D-TANF Application

As of March 4, 2019, families who live in the following counties can apply for D-TANF assistance.

Disaster TANF Georgia Counties

The Disaster TANF covered counties include:

  • Baker County
  • Crisp County
  • Decatur County
  • Dougherty County
  • Early County
  • Grady County
  • Lee County
  • Miller County
  • Mitchell County
  • Seminole County
  • Terrell County
  • Thomas County
  • Worth County
  • Calhoun County
  • Clay County
  • Laurens County
  • Randolph County
  • Sumter County
  • Tift County
  • Turner County

Applications can be picked up at your local county DFCS office. You can also call 1-833-GA-DTANF (1-833-423-8263) to request a mailed application. D-TANF phone lines are open from 7:30 am to 4:30 pm daily.

D-TANF Assistance Eligibility

To qualify for Georgia D-TANF, you must meet the following criteria:

  • Provide proof of application for FEMA Individual Assistance
  • Reside in one of the 20 counties declared for FEMA Individual Assistance at the time of the disaster
  • Provide photo identification and proof of residency at the time of the disaster
  • Household includes minor children under the age of 18 (or 18 and in school)
  • Meet TANF basic eligibility
  • Gross income under 300% of Federal Poverty Limit (FPL) for household size at the time of the disaster

To qualify for the Disaster TANF program, you will be required to complete an interview. Eligibility for the program requires an interview.

For help on how to apply for D-TANF assistance, follow the instructions here.

D-TANF Application Mailing Address

Completed applications can be mailed to: Disaster TANF, P.O. Box 161388 Atlanta, Georgia 30321.


If you have any additional questions about the Disaster TANF program and how it affects you, please leave those in the comments section below. Be sure to only apply for D-TANF assistance if you live in one of the approved Georgia counties.



Get the Complete Guide of EBT Discounts for 2024! $1,000+ Worth of Savings!